10% off all books and free delivery over £40
Buy from our bookstore and 25% of the cover price will be given to a school of your choice to buy more books. *15% of eBooks.

Wild East

View All Editions

£8.99 £8.09

In Stock. Same day dispatch on orders before 3pm.

Add To Wishlist
Write A Review Read An Extract

About

Wild East Synopsis

The soaring debut YA verse-novel by Ashley Hickson-Lovence, perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds, Manjeet Mann, and Dean Atta.

Pen in one hand, on my wrist, a ticking clock I've got to make this work, just need a little luck...

When fourteen-year-old Ronny’s life is struck by tragedy, his mum decides it’s finally time they move out of East London. In his new city, as a Black teenager in a mostly white school, Ronny feels like a complete outsider and struggles to balance keeping his head down with his ambition of becoming a rapper. But when a local poet comes into class, Ronny discovers a world he’s never considered before. Rap is like spoken word, bars equal poetry – and maybe the combination of both could be the key to achieving his dreams?

About This Edition

ISBN: 9780241645444
Publication date: 23rd May 2024
Author: Ashley Hickson-Lovence
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd an imprint of Penguin Random House Children's UK
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 320 pages
Suitable For:
Other Genres:
Recommendations:

Press Reviews

Author

More

Collections Featuring This Book

You Might Also Like...

11+ readers

Brown Girl Dreaming

Jacqueline Woodson

Paperback

In Stock

£8.09 £8.99

11+ readers

Fight Back

A. M. Dassu

Paperback

In Stock

£7.19 £7.99

11+ readers

Front Desk

Kelly Yang

Paperback

In Stock

£7.19 £7.99

Reader Reviews

See All

Bursting with energy and heart, young readers will adore this empowering novel told in verse. A raw and relevant exploration of creativity, talent and what it means to be human.

Wild East is a soaring tale of empowerment, friendship and self-acceptance told in verse. Engaging, accessible and utterly compelling, it marks Ashley Hickson-Lovence as a vital voice in YA fiction.

When tragedy strikes, fourteen-year-old Ronny’s life is upended and he’s forced to move from East London to a new city. As a black teenager in a predominantly white school, Ronny feels like he doesn’t belong but when a poet visits his class, he discovers poetry isn’t so different from his beloved rap.... Read Full Review

Alison King

Put a knife to hate And let music stir Words are powerful, bewitching and beguiling Unlived dreams And future players All have a chance In Norwich, a nice place.

Ronny lives in East London, the dangerous part. When his best friend dies from being stabbed, his mum has had enough, so takes him to a new life in Norwich. Here he has to start a new school and try not to stand out too much, even though he dreams of being a rapper. Having never read a book written in verse, this was a new experience for me, and I have to say, I wasn't sure at first. However, Ronnie is such a great character: his feelings and thoughts are laid out naked on the page and are very realistic for someone of that age. The story follows his life through the course of the first year in his new school and I was really inspired by hearing it. His teachers spot his talent and build his confidence in his writing. He's given special opportunities to succeed.... Read Full Review

Jamie Marshall