10% off all books and free delivery over £40
Buy from our bookstore and 25% of the cover price will be given to a school of your choice to buy more books. *15% of eBooks.

Code Name Kingfisher

View All Editions

£7.99 £7.19

In Stock. Same day dispatch on orders before 3pm.

Add To Wishlist
Write A Review Read An Extract

About

Code Name Kingfisher Synopsis

From million-copy bestselling author Liz Kessler comes the powerful new landmark World War II novel for fans of Michael Morpurgo and Phil Earle. 

When Liv finds a secret box from her grandmother’s childhood she uncovers an extraordinary war-time story of bravery, betrayal and daring defiance. A story that will change Liv and her family forever…  

Holland, 1942. The world is at war and as the Nazis’ power grows, Jewish families are in terrible danger. Twelve-year-old Mila and her older sister Hannie are sent to live with a family in another city with new identities and the strict instruction not to tell anyone that they are Jewish.  

Hannie, determined to fight back, is swept into the Dutch resistance as an undercover agent: Code Name Kingfisher.  And though Mila does her best to make friends and keep out of trouble, there is danger at every turn and the sisters are soon left questioning who they can trust…

About This Edition

ISBN: 9781398512511
Publication date: 23rd May 2024
Author: Liz Kessler
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 336 pages
Suitable For:
Other Genres:

Press Reviews

Author

Collections Featuring This Book

You Might Also Like...

9+ readers

Code Name Kingfisher

Liz Kessler

Hardback

In Stock

£11.69 £12.99

9+ readers

When The War Came Home

Lesley Parr

Paperback

In Stock

£7.19 £7.99

9+ readers

The Haunting of Fortune Farm

Sophie Kirtley

Paperback

Pre-order. 26th September 2024

£7.19 £7.99

9+ readers

The Last Boy

Eve McDonnell

Paperback

Not Available

9+ readers

The Swifts: A Gallery of Rogues

Beth Lincoln

Hardback

Pre-order. 22nd August 2024

£13.49 £14.99

9+ readers

Man Man and the Tree of Memories

Yaba Badoe

Paperback

Pre-order. 1st August 2024

£10.80 £12.00

Reader Reviews

See All

An amazing read that will keep you on the edge of your seat. You will want to learn more every chapter.

This book is all about a girl called Liv, a history project and her grandma-Bubbe-who grew up as a twelve-year-old Jew in the Second World War. Liv didn’t know about her grandmother’s life until a school history project where they have to do a family tree. Liv goes through a box which belonged to her grandmother when she is taken away to go to a care home. That’s when Bubbe’s life gradually starts to piece together.
You flip between the characters as you go through the book and learn about both their stories and lives as you go.
This is a great book for people who like adventure and thrill and mystery. It’s also a good book for people who want to learn more about history or just don’t know what to read next!... Read Full Review

Libby

Code Name Kingfisher is a touching and exciting book set in Nazi occupied Holland. This book was thoughtful and thought provoking, beautiful and scary. I would highly recommend this book.

Code Name Kingfisher is a touching and exciting book set in Nazi occupied Holland. The book also took place in a modern day setting where a girl starting secondary school decides to investigate her family history. Despite not being the most original start to a book the plot soon picks up with spies, soldiers and more. This book was unputdownable, but I found several of the characters slightly hollow. Despite this there were deep, touching moments between characters. The basic idea does not seem that interesting, but Liz Kessler manages to pull off a pretty exciting story, with some very tense moments. The horrors of war are portrayed in a way which is suitable for around 9+ ages with some slightly upsetting scenes. Overall though this book was thoughtful and thought provoking, beautiful and scary.... Read Full Review

Barney Clark