The shortlist for the Klaus Flugge Prize has been announced today following a celebration event at Waterstones Piccadilly last night.

Established in 2016, the prize was set up to honour Klaus Flugge, founder of Andersen Press and a leading light in the world of children’s publishing and illustration. It is awarded to the most promising and exciting newcomer to children’s picture book illustration.

This year’s judges are multi award-winning illustrator Petr Horáček; Mariajo Ilustrajo, winner of the 2023 Klaus Flugge Prize; Olivia Ahmad, Artistic Director at the Quentin Blake Centre for Illustration; and Alex Forbes, founder of independent bookshop Fourbears Books.

Chair of the Judges Julia Eccleshare says, “From another strong longlist, our judges have selected a shortlist that fully represents the extraordinary variety of picture books on offer to children today. At a time when computers and software are as important tools for illustrators as brush and pen, our six shortlisted illustrators demonstrate exceptional skill at drawing, painting and observation. In a crowded market, they have developed their own style, creating characters and scenes we haven’t encountered before. When it is so hard for new talent to break through, Klaus Flugge’s generosity in sponsoring the Prize and his lifelong support for authors and illustrators is vital.”

From a longlist of 17 picture books by debut illustrators, the panel of judges chose six to shortlist. The six shortlisted illustrators have very different approaches and artistic styles, their subjects are as varied as the power and importance of the natural world; a little girl with the most amazing dreams; the purpose of art; and a mango tree full of surprises.

This year the shortlist also includes two information picture books: one highlights the lives of Black British people in history, the other tells the story of Victorian fossil hunter, Mary Anning.

The shortlisted books are:

The Crown illustrated by Emily Kapff

The Dream Book by Bia Melo

Henri and the Machine  illustrated by Olga Shtonda, written by Isabelle Marinov

Farah Loves Mangos Illustrated by Sarthak Sinha

Bright Stars of Black British History illustrated by Angela Vives, written by J. T. Williams

The Fossil Hunter illustrated by Kate Winter

The winner will be announced at a ceremony in London on Wednesday 11th September 2024 and will receive a cheque for £5,000.

For more information about the prize go to 

Read our feature on the 2024 longlist here.